This week has been corny, trust me

This has been a corny week, trust me. We have been putting up corn all week. Lol
Monday:
Well, it was corn picking day.
 photo PhotoGrid_1468858988490_zpsao3tnh2x.jpg Me and Dallas picked 4 rows and had a full cart so we stopped there. I still have two more to go but they aren’t ready yet.
The stalks were so high I felt like I was walking in the rain forest. We parked the four wheeler and cart under some shade trees and got to shucking. We got finished around 2 PM and was exhausted. We brought it all in and dumped it in my big tub. It was clean of course. Yep, that’s how we roll. My kitchen would have never held all that. I ran cold water in there to keep the cobs moisture so they wouldn’t spoil or start drying out. These kept til next morning so I could finish them.

Tuesday:
Dallas had Football practice first thing at 7am. Coach has moved it to morning time because of heat index. He was done by 9am so we came home and started working on the corn. I brought corn from the tub to the sinks and we washed and prepped corn. After I got a bunch washed I got Dallas to cutting off the cob. He did good considering this was his first time. I put up 21 bags of cobs and then we just had to take a break. photo PhotoGrid_1468981084970_zpssrg9qw0d.jpg After we rested I cooked supper and we ate and then I got busy finishing rest of corn to cut off cob. I can work faster so I just finished them. David lost count of how many bags of cream corn I got. It was around 30 something bags.He was making up vacuum seal bags and filling with one quart of fresh cut corn. Dallas kept my bucket of cobs emptied for me and kept bringing me more corn. I had a big sheet spread out in the floor to protect the carpet from juice and stickiness. We finally got finished. Corn is sticky, laborous, hard work, but in the winter when you open up fresh corn, it is so worth every bit of sweat you put into it. You feel a sense of pride knowing that you did it. I try to grow enough to last us a whole year. I couldn’t do it without my guys though.
Putting up a gardens harvest is laborious but so well worth it.
Tomorrow we’re going to take a break. It is our fun day.

Wednesday:
Well today was suppose to have been our fun day however, the museum we were going to go to did not open til 1pm. I did not want to wait that late to go anywhere cause it was already dangerously hot and I knew daddy wouldn’t want to come home to an empty house. So Dallas said let’s just have a rest day. I was all for that. After a couple days of corn my back was killing me. Although I did have to get caught up with laundry and scrub my bathtub and kitchen floor from corn. Oh well. It was still a productive day.

Thursday:
I had to check the tomatoes. I gathered two 5gallon buckets. photo IMG_20160721_104116626_zpsh432tmje.jpg Brought them in washed, peeled, cored, and put them in bags and put them in the freezer until I get ready to cook my batch of spaghetti sauce. I put up some jalapeño peppers, Bell peppers, zucchini and squash. After my rest time, I got up and made supper before Dallas had to go to karate. I made some Italian Zucchini Boats. I just sliced some zucchini long ways and roasted with olive oil in the oven. While they baked, I prepared the meat mixture just like I do for spaghetti. Ground beef and spaghetti sauce. After the meat was done I spread some on top of the zucchini slices and topped with mozzarella cheese and put back in oven and baked til cheese melted. They were so delicious. I’m thinking I’m going to make some lasagna using zucchini as the noodles. We’ll see.  photo IMG_20160721_174828210_zpsgwqwpbzt.jpg shhhhhh….you don’t see any missing.
Friday:
Daddy was off today due to code orange restrictions for heat index so we gathered the rest of the corn today. He went and woke Dallas up and said let’s get at it before it gets hot. We had an assembly line going. They picked and shucked and brought it in to me to silk and wash. photo IMG_20160722_104915_zpsmdrfzflg.jpg  photo IMG_20160722_090244874_zpsovr9b1qg.jpg  photo IMG_20160722_110951911_zpsoryfjk6z.jpg
That’s the fastest we ever got done. Daddy told Dallas whoever did the most buckets got mint ice cream. It was a tie.
We got the rest processed and in the freezer. We shared with family and neighbors.
We rested and then I made Mexican casserole and deep fried corn on the cob for supper. Yummy. I also did the ultimate: I made my first ever homemade Apple pie from scratch. Even the crusts. I do not like Apple pies, never have but I did like this one. I just had to see if I could do it. My critics even liked it.  photo PhotoGrid_1469237137594_zpsa3yr68te.jpg
Saturday:
Up and at em again. Dallas had karate this morning. It was a good class. His main instructor said he will test him on August 20th. He has a month to prepare. I’m already nervous.  photo PhotoGrid_1469286146608_zpsfgon7xrc.jpg
Also, On this day July 23, 1918 a great man was born. They named him Bennie Franklin Oliver SR. He would be 98 today. He is celebrating in Heaven. Happy birthday PaPa from your Little Bit. We love you.  photo IMG_20160623_112633_zpsjwsveu5a.jpg
I’m still proud of Dakota. He’s up every morning at 4:45 am and getting ready for work. Not many 18 yr olds do that. Shoot…..not many grown ups do that. Their job didn’t have heat restrictions this week. They had to touch it out. But every day I would text and check on him and tell him to stay hydrated and that I loved him. It’s good to get that I love you too text back.
Well, it’s been a good week. We’re just going to chill tonight.

Everyone have a blessed day in the Lord tomorrow.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

