Making Apple jelly and Canning Jalepenos

This morning we woke up to a little rain storm which was good cause I really didn’t want to have to run the sprinklers today to water the garden. So today we just worked inside. I managed to put up 9 jars of apple jelly and 12 jars of jalepenos’. Then a little house cleaning since we have mostly worked outside all week.

I will use this post to give you a tutorial of how I processed my jelly and jalepenos’.
 photo PhotoGrid_1466790124863_zpsy9lssy24.jpg
I washed, rinsed, cored, seeded and sliced my apples. I put slices into a stock pot and filled with just enough water to cover apples. Then I cooked down the apples to get the juice. It will turn to kind of a mush like consistency. Strain the apples in a colander and retain juice. Now, at this point you can pour into a container or pitcher and store the juice until you can complete the process. It’s alot to do in one day.
 photo PhotoGrid_1466790361635_zpsyws4i9th.jpg
When you do get ready to process, pour juice back into a stockpot, gather all your ingredients, which will be your sugar and Sure-jell like I use or Jell-Ease etc. Prepare your jars by washing jars and lids and drying. Don’t freak out when I say I reuse jelly jars or any kind of jars with the pop top lid. They are perfect. However, you can only use them a few times due to the seal eventually wearing out. Now, I follow the directions to the T inside the box of Sure-Jell. I remove the cooked juice, and ladle into jars, wipe jars off around rim and sides, tighten on lid and put on a towel to cool and set. Now, don’t freak out again because you can set them this way. You turn them upside down making sure they don’t leak. You also can follow the directions to process them in the water bath. If you do them the way I did, by turning them upside down, work quickly cause the liquid needs to remain very hot in order to make the seal pop in the lid when it is cooling. After a while you should start hearing the jars pop. This is a good sign, it means your jars have sealed. Check them after several hours to see if they are setting, which means they are getting thicker like Jello. Wholah! You have made Jelly.

Now for my Jalepenos’:
 photo PhotoGrid_1466804381098_zps5jr1dmz8.jpg
I prepare my jars by washing and rinsing jars and lids and dry. I fill my jars with peppers and then water up to the neck of jar. I tighten on lid and ring. I put my water bath on stove and place jars into tub. Fill with water, enough to cover jars, even over the lids. Put lid on canner and bring to rolling boil. Process for 30 minutes. Remove from canner and set on a counter or somewhere to cool and seal. CAUTION: please remember the jars and water are extremely hot so use a hand mitt that goes over hand, and use grippers to grab jars and lift out of hot water while using a pot holder to hold onto the bottom. After a while of cooling you will start hearing pops which lets you know the jars are sealing. Store in your pantry. They should keep for a long time if sealed properly. Homemade canned jalepenos’.

We ate left overs tonight because I had to use my kitchen all day to do my jelly and jalepenos’.  I’m still loving my sauerkraut.

Tonight we’re just going to relax and I will probably crochet or read.

There is no telling what we will get into tomorrow though.

Hope everyone has a blessed day.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

