Step by step tutorial of my birdbath

 photo PhotoGrid_1462805755087_zpsru6ldq9e.jpg

I told y’all I would do a tutorial of how I painted my birdbath. So here you go.  First, I put two coats of concrete sealer on my birdbath. Any brand is fine. Make sure you can put the two coats on in the same day with drying time in between, mainly because once the brush dries with the sealer on it, you want be able to use it again. It will be hard as a rock. Also, try to do it on a warm sunny day or wind would help to dry it faster. Also, in the open cause the sealer is strong. Just make sure it doesn’t rain on it before it has time to dry.

Next, I painted the 3d details. I used fine, small paint brushes for this. It is time consuming but we’ll worth it. And I did two coats.

After I painted all the fine details, I went over the color paint with another coat of sealer to seal the paint. Just don’t rub too hard over the paint with the sealer because it will start trying to take it off. Be careful when choosing paint. Choose paints that are outdoor paints and will adhere to concrete. The sealer is just so strong you just want to dab over the color to seal it in. If it starts taking some off just repeat process: paint then sealer.

After it was all painted and sealed for the second time, I let it all dry and put it back under my arbor where it was.

I sent a picture to my mother and of course she wanted me to do hers too. So that’s what one of my sisters and I did while we were visiting for mothers day.

We got the one coat on and she did the second coat. She really loves it.

Hope you enjoy.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

