Busy Spring Again

We have been so busy around here getting ready for spring. So many projects we wanted to do and some needed getting done.

First, I’m loving raising my windows and letting in the breeze and fresh air. I’m so loving hearing the birds sing and visit my bird feeders. I have attracted a lot of new birds that I have not had before. I have been learning how to identify them by using an app I downloaded to my phone.

I left y’all last and told y’all that my sweetheart was working on a project, well he got it completed and it is for my Mothers Day. Tadah!…… photo _20160422_191000_zpsotghtxhp.jpg photo IMG_20160422_190911097_zpsabexia79.jpg It comes complete with iron table and chairs too. We then planted some more rose bushes and some azaleas in the back. I am so excited to be able to go out and sit and enjoy my new deck. It also has solar lights and a tiki torch to repel mosquitoes. We love to eat out there and just hang out. He did such a wonderful job. However he did have a few frustrations as with any new project your going to have. So with that he said he was now retired. Bless him. He is not a carpenter but he did awesome with such craftsmanship. It is very quality work and sturdy and I could not have asked for any better. He puts everything into any thing he does. Not bad for an electrician. Lol.
We remulched the front flower beds with black mulch. I’ve always liked red but hubby wanted to try a different look this year. So he showed Dallas what to do and Dallas finished that job. He did very good. photo IMG_20160422_164336442_zpsgbg8mefp.jpg
My arbor is lighting up at night very pretty. We planted some climbing roses which are purple. It is going to look great. I still have one small project I’m working on that goes in my arbor but that’s another post. You’ll just have to wait. We have also ordered two rose of Sharons to plant beside my arbor. The cool thing is they are grafted to be red, white and blue flowers. It is going to be awesome.  photo IMG_20160422_200604221_zpsi2vo2cxw.jpg
All the trees that dear hubby has planted are budding and a few have already produced little flowers. Hopefully by this time next yr there will be plenty of color around here.
We worked so hard that dear hubby wanted a reward. He wanted some of my home made pizzas again. So I obliged. I made one supreme, one with Canadian bacon and ham, and one with sausage and pepperoni. I was praised all night. Lol. photo IMG_20160421_180457251_zps86cmrjof.jpg
We started getting the garden planted. First, we got the green bean fence put up and green beans planted. photo IMG_20160423_112337055_zpsiyiruhgm.jpg photo IMG_20160423_121840542_zpsnv5qthuj.jpg Then, 6 long rows of corn. photo IMG_20160425_105601770_zpsq7s4zi5e.jpg Then came 30 tomatoes plants, 8 pepper plants and sunflowers for the birds. This morning we finished up with potatoes and fertilized everything.  photo IMG_20160427_091712132_zpsjxayup6q.jpg The next few days are rest days. We are exhausted at the moment.
Dallas picked a few little strawberries from his plants and oh my they are so sweet. photo Picture0423161238951_zpsechztxwr.jpg
This is Dallas’ year to learn alot. Big brother is a working man and will be getting a steady job this summer so he has to take over some things. One is one he is so excited about. He finally gets to mow the yard. He had looked forward to this. I so loved seeing daddy teach him and work with him. My heart swelled with pride. He did a very good job.  photo PhotoGrid_1461441750050_zpsnwimvpkd.jpg photo PhotoGrid_1461623854006_zps2l1iwxq1.jpg He’s also teaching him how to do simple maintenance on it. This will be his job this summer and he will make money. I’m so glad my boys have good work ethics. This is something we teach our boys.
Daddy came along behind him and fertilized the sod. photo IMG_20160425_173237_zpsrjcllcrh.jpg
Dakota passed his SR Project presentation and I’m so proud of him. They made pictures so all the parents could purchase them. When he cut down on blowing his duck call that whole end of the hall went silent. The teachers had to stop teaching for a few minutes cause it was loud and they knew that was Dakota Dixon. Lol. photo IMG_20160426_102018_zpsovcls0ar.jpg. He has been keeping up with school, his welding classes to which he is fixing to take his test and become certified, and then work. It is hay season and it is some long hours but he is loving it. I don’t really like the idea of him being out so late on a school night but it isn’t for much longer and he is loving his paychecks. So I don’t complain. I can’t believe graduation is getting closer. photo _20160406_155541_zps5644xttv.jpg photo _20160406_155523_zpszz6nvkpy.jpg I’ve got all his graduation announcements mailed out. They are getting ready for their prom. He did not go last year. But this year he is taking Jossie. We went yesterday and picked out his tux. He will be very handsome. He’s been working so hard that Jossie came over one night he was off but she had some home work she had to do so I sat her at our computer and Dakota was trying to get her attention so bad. I told him to leave her alone and let her get her work done. He finally gave up and pouted. Bless him. photo IMG_20160421_211759757_zpsgldlsrwr.jpg She’s a working girl too and trying to keep her grades up too.
I thought this was a cute photo op. What’s funny is I have a pic of this same thing only when Dallas was a baby. I guess some things never change. photo _20160422_152821_zpshrbibkkn.jpg However I don’t think he fits anymore. Lol. photo _20160422_152835_zpsiwancw1g.jpg
I guess I’ll leave y’all with that. Hope everyone is enjoying this weather.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

