Raised Bed Tutorial

 photo PhotoGrid_1459015076558_zpsj9wo3o35.jpg
I told y’all I would do a tutorial for planting a raised bed to help y’all out. No, I’m not an expert flower gardener, however my husband has allowed me to play around with some bare space around our trees in our front yard so we can put some color around here and dress it up a bit.

First, do some planning and look at different kinds of edging to see what you like and how it could possibly look. We chose the cement edging because it’s low maintenance. Some wood rots and might have to be replaced, repainted or repaired after years. Make sure it can hold up to strong weather. Some of those little tiny fences are not strong enough.

Next, place your edging in the shape you want it. I chose a circle, yea, the hardest. Two layers high is fine because you want enough depth to plant bulbs or seeds that needs good root stability.

Then, fill with topsoil, potting mix or compost. You can do your own research and see which you want to do. Spread soil out evenly.

Last, comes the fun part. Planting your bulbs, seeds, or plants according to their proper directions. You will need to plan this out too ahead of time. Take into consideration the amount of sun or shade that particular area get. You have to plant according to full sun, partial shade or full shade. Sensitive shade plants will not thrive in full sun for example. Plan smart and play around.
I like to stagger according to seasons so each season something will be growing. For example, in the fall I planted early spring bulbs like hyacinth, and crocuses. Then behind that a late spring or early summer seed or bulb. Then a late summer followed by fall growing plants, like mums. There will be something for each season.

This raised bed also works for your garden veggies too. It’s not limited to just flowers.

Hope you enjoy planning, playing and gandering at all the loveliness.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

