I smell Spring

Well we have wrapped up our hunting season. We had a good duck season. The guys went for the last two weekends in January and first weekend of February. The most important part is keeping your guns clean. photo PhotoGrid_1455232743806_zpsqh1wbcex.jpg We have plenty of ducks to cook however we want. I did not get to go back for my last hunt due to the weather turning too cold for my rheumatoid arthritis. Our deer season was not as good though. Mostly due to the company that we lease our hunting property from decided they wanted to start cutting some timber during hunting season. So things got out of whack for a while. I am going to start earlier next yr in the fall when bow season starts. I’ve got to get dear hubby to sight it in for me. At least it will be warmer weather. I may sweat but maybe I can bag some.

Our farm cat has been busy. All this time I thought she was lazy. She had to bring me a present to show me she wasn’t lazy. photo PhotoGrid_1454243515519_zps9o8nc5su.jpg either that or she’s starving. We have a little critter coming around and stealing her food. It is a racoon.

We had a good day of snow one day. It was the good powdery stuff that I can tolerate. It was lovely. Even the birds enjoyed it. photo PhotoGrid_1455232788222_zpsernf1h0f.jpg

Dallas got to attend his first Jr High Valentines Dance at school. Be still my heart. photo PhotoGrid_1455233467271_zps8jqu9ich.jpg

I have however had to go to the school and talk to his teachers. It appears that Dallas has had his head in the clouds since I let him go to public school by the looks of his grades. It seems girls are more important than grades. Well, if things don’t get back to normal and he doesn’t come down out of the clouds all electronics will come out of his room. Momma don’t play with bad grades. So we have a little plan for the next few weeks before report cards go out. Hes not going to like it to much but oh well.

On the lighter side he has been working hard because its getting closer to time for him to be tested for his red belt in karate. He’s got a tough couple weeks ahead. I know he’s got alot on his plate but its part of growing up and becoming a young responsible man.

Dakota made the Honor roll again when report cards went out in January. He is almost done with his SR. Project at school. All he has left to do is his written report. He is however frustrated that he can’t find a job. He is very independent and loves making his own money. He is doing very good in his welding classes he is taking. The instructors says he is doing better than some adult union welders. That says alot. He will get a jump start on his certification.

I smell spring coming. Dear hubby will have to leave out again in a few weeks so he is getting things prepared for me. Since I took off last year from gardening and we spent most of summer break in CO its time to get back to it this year. We will do inventory and see what we need to grow and not need to grow. I can’t wait. photo PhotoGrid_1455232708455_zpsrhpyufei.jpg

Last night I fixed homemade vegetable beef soup with grilled cheese. Dear hubby has been asking for homemade sloppy joes with home made hamburger buns so I guess that’s on the menu tonight.

Hope everyone enjoys their day.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

