Back to the drawing board.

Well, I told ya’ll I would update ya’ll on how we did over the rest of Christmas break.

Sorry I missed telling everyone Happy New Year and wishing you well this new year.  Facebook has gotten so convenient that I forget my blog sometimes. I will try to get better at this. I honestly have more followers on my blog than I do fb so I apologize for leaving ya’ll hanging sometimes. You are very faithful and I appreciate that no matter how scatter brained I get sometimes ya’ll always hang in there with me.

Well, everyone did what they wanted to do. Hubby and Dakota brought home some more ducks and some geese this time. They bought them a new speck goose call and are teaching their selves how to use it. I made some good duck gumbo one night and even the pickiest of my eaters (Dakota) even ate it. His girlfriend ate some too and said it was good. So there’s a bonus point for me.  photo PhotoGrid_1452870245450_zps8hmm39w1.jpg

Dallas came back home and got to enjoy his video games he got for Christmas.

I got to work on some projects that were long time coming in completing that I needed. I got to do a little hunting. Much to my disappointment, I didn’t get anything. All I saw were little ones and PLENTY of squirrels. I was about to have dumplings cause they were so aggravating. I thought one was going to jump into the blind with me one day. It was being chased by another bully and it ran my way for protection I guess and stopped right at the bottom outside of my blind. I had to lean out my window and shew it off. Geez, there went that. My hunt was ruined then. One day as I was walking back to my truck, two deer ran off. Can you believe that? Right in front of my truck. Should have just stayed in the truck and hunted. There is deer tracks everywhere but they are just passing through. It just hasn’t gotten cold enough here yet to stir them around alot. When it finally did get cold enough, the season shut. They really need to extend our season for this area. I will have to get an earlier start during bow season next year, even if it means sitting there sweating in the blind and burning up I guess. This was my view one evening  photo IMG_20151229_085118981_HDR_zpsrxq5sjkn.jpg

We got back in the groove cause school started back and we all dreaded it. No body wanted to get up to go to school. I didn’t want my boys to leave but they had to.
I don’t like to hear people say, “I’ll be so glad when ya’ll go back to school so I can get ya’ll out of my hair!” Really? Are your kids not enjoyable to be around. Let that sink in a bit. I enjoy every minute I can get with mine. They are a joy to be around.
I started getting the house back in order and taking all the decorations down and repacking them. Got them all put away and started getting my house cleaned. I took one room at a time and went from ceilings to floors. That’s just how I roll.

Dallas got back in the groove with karate classes. He needed too and get some of all these sweets he ate over the holidays off. I should speak for myself too.

Dakota has been working on some more duck calls for his SR. project at school. He has gotten really good. We need to get him some tools to go with his lathe he got for Christmas so he can do his own here at home.

I think the critters around here are getting the best of me. Back in the summer when we laid sod, it brought on the armadillos. They have put so many wholes in our yard its pathetic. I’m getting aggravated. Then I started noticing everytime I would fill my bird feeders the next day they would be empty. Something would get them every night. I know the deer have gotten into them a few times because I have seen deer tracks right underneath the feeders and then one night I saw a momma and her two young ones out under the feeders. One night I walk by the windows as I was cutting out all the lights getting ready to go to bed and notices two dark blobs underneath a feeder in the back yard. AHAH!!!!! I thought to myself, I’m gonna get me some armadillos. I went to the gun cabinet and loaded my shot gun and went out back door quietly. Just as I raised my shot gun to fire, the little critter stood on its back legs, with its little hands cupped begging for his life. Me with a melted heart lowers my shot gun, cause its a little bandit, yes a Raccoon, two of them. Dagnabbit. That’s what else has been emptying my feeders. I fill them, they empty them. They are enjoying the shenannigans. Raccoons -1, me – 0. Oh well, hope they enjoy.

This past week has been busy. We had a death in the family. It was one of my husbands aunts. We called her Aunt Polly. David has gotten to see family that he hasnt got to see in years. One unlce who lives in Washington who is a retired Marine. It has been great for him to see family but not always under these circumstances.

Both boys are doing good in school. Got report cards and they are ok. Dallas has to pick it up a notch in Math. Public school teaches common core math. When we homeschooled I did not do common core. He struggles a little because he doesn’t get common core and nither do I but he will cause they will work with him. I’ve seen alot of changes in Dallas the last few weeks. He’s maturing but also picking up just a few habits too. But, that’s how they learn and decifer things too. I pray for my kids everyday.

Dakota is checking into some welding classes at a technical school so he can get certified possibly before he graduates. This is really good. He can get a jump start on his welding skills for a good job.

We’ve got a few more weeks of duck hunting left in AR and we are going to enjoy it. as best as we can before the season closes. Hubby and Dakota will head out today after school. We’ve got a 4 day weekend. Dallas wants to hang back and me take him and his girlfriend to the movies again and to eat. Go figure. Girls.

I finished my farm cat a blanket I started crocheting. I am a little late about finishing since we’ve already had a few cold snaps but I think she snurled her nose up at it at first, but when it got cold that night, I think she enjoyed it. She’d better or Im going to tie her up in it. lol

Well, I need to sign off and go do something. Hope everyone has a blessed day.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

