Buying in bulk and preserving

Even though we grow our own garden, there are just some things I can not grow for some reason or other.  That is where buying in bulk comes in handy. We use Sam’s Club. We buy alot of things in bulk there like meats, photo PhotoGrid_1448240688069_zpsec0tnnnw.jpg some dairy like cheeses, photo PhotoGrid_1448240766321_zps9hf1csdn.jpg some vegetables, etc.  We usually make 3 trips a year. It may be alot of money up front at one time, but when your only having to make few trips and things last for months, its totally worth it.

I have trouble growing carrots for example so I buy them there.  I also buy onions too and now I have just bought some celery. This is how I preserve these vegetables.  photo PhotoGrid_1448240487487_zpsh7caxo0g.jpg Step 1- I cut the ends off all vegetables. I choose not to peel them because believe it or not alot of nutrition is found in the peelings more than anywhere else. Step 2- wash produce. Step 3- I chop up my produce in my food processor according to manufactures directions. I like the finer chopping that my processor does cause I have some picky eaters that don’t like big chunks of celery or carrots. Step 4-5- I empty the processor bowl into a bigger bowl and take a 1-cup measuring cup and measure out one cup proportions. This way you know how much you have in each bag and for what a recipe calls for. Step 6- put into individual ziploc bags or vacuum seal bags. Whola. You have done 90% of your prep work when it gets time to cook. I use the same process for celery and onions. Let me give a word of advice when working with onions. Sister, you better work quick or you will be crying for no reason what so ever. lol It helps to wear some safety glasses or just some regular glasses. I slung those onions through there like blaylocks bull. lol. My eyes were burning the whole time. Don’t they look all pretty for the fridge?  photo PhotoGrid_1448240633604_zpsidcwfig9.jpg
Let me give you some ideas of what to do with those little ends of the celery. You can take the little leaves and tips and use them as garnishes for dishes or salad garnishes. Just wash them and put in ziploc bag. Then take the very ends and put in a bowl with a little water and set in a window seal and before long you will see little new sprouts growing. Then take the ends and plant in a pot with potting soil and let it continue to grow. Before long you will have a whole new bunch of celery. You can google it for more info. You can do many vegetables this way. This way nothing is wasted and you can recycle.  photo PhotoGrid_1448240544238_zpsw5equjyw.jpg You can also use celery to make Homemade Celery Soup. You can visit Heavenly Homemakers and check out her recipe.

Hope you have enjoyed this tutorial.

Have a blessed day.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

