Stressful Whirlwind

Well it has been a stressful whirlwind since December. Once again I have failed to keep ya’ll updated and for that I apologize I have such faithful readers and followers. I have got to get better. I guess facebook is just too handy sometimes and faster but I will try to blog more often.  First, I have got to get my laptop serviced. It is so slow and aggravating. I guess thats why I haven’t been blogging much.

I left you all at Christmas if Im correct. Well, we were in Colorado.  I told ya’ll we were gonna make a trip and we sure did. Let me tell you all about it. We were counting down the days til the day we got to leave. It was on a Friday that Dallas and I got up and ready and Dakota went on to school. He hadnt missed any days of school so far so I didnt want him to start now. So he went to school for half a day and around 11:00 am we went to the school and checked him out. We grabbed something to eat on the way and we were on our way. I told ya’ll I was going to learn to read a map and I did. I solely depended on it the whole way out there. Since I could only travel so many hours in a day due to swelling and getting sore, I would drive so far and we would stop for the night somewhere. Honey would already have us a hotel room booked and directions and all we would have to do is stop and rest.  I only got turned around once and honey made me turn on GPS for his sanity not mine. He was already a nervous wreck tracking us on gps every day making sure we were ok.  It took us three days but we finally arrived.

I tried to get as many pics of state signs as I could on the way there and back home but some snuck up on us.
 photo Screenshot_2014-12-16-11-56-13_zpsahtywz4o.jpg  photo Snapchat-5962923829415319211_zpsy0ikh8wt.jpg The best part that kept us busy and entertained was getting to see all the migrations of geese. I thought the boys were going to wet their pants everytime they saw a group. I became a good spotter too as well. Every time I turned around I had a finger pointing in my face by Dakota hollering….LOOK! GEESE!!  photo PhotoGrid_1419831184208_zpsk3lktgwb.jpg We finally made it to the CO state line. YIPPEE!!!!!!!!  photo PhotoGrid_1419831258828_zpsiysqc8kr.jpg As soon as I was in his arms I was in Heaven and one contented woman. He was contented to have us all under one roof again. Thats what makes him happy.

Honey gave me directions to our destination but to our surprise it was not a hotel like we expected but a house. Yes, a house. He got tickled however when he saw us driving around like lunatics looking for a hotel and we drove right past the house. Finally he called my phone and said……Look for me standing in the driveway. LOL. Just two and a half weeks before we arrived he had searched for and rented a house. He had already decorated it for Christmas for us. He is such a Superman. The only thing left for us to do was decorate the tree and he knew I wanted to do that.  photo PhotoGrid_1419831379179_zpsrad5hhlz.jpg  photo IMG_20141218_141052_167_zpsoyym1ray.jpg No Dixon household is complete without a deer. Notice front door.  photo PhotoGrid_1419831555739_zpsqo26i80j.jpg Honey spoiled us so much while we were there. We went to so many places and did so many things on our trip. Honey cooked a bunch for us and I really enjoyed that too. He cooks better than I do.  photo IMG_20141220_164916_424-1_zpsm5eczy1p.jpg We also went out to eat alot. Dallas loves going to Hooters and having his picture taken with the girls.  photo IMG_20141227_173347_612_zps9hezxkla.jpg

We got to celebrate Dakotas 17th bday while we were there. Yes, 17. My how time flies.Daddy and I tried to get bday sugar but Dakota wasnt having it. His cake was a duck hunting cake complete with blind, hunting men, dog, ducks and shotguns. We loved it. We went to Bass Pro Shop. No vacation of ours is complete til we hit a Bass Pro where we can. This one had a bowling alley in it.  photo PhotoGrid_1419831450870_zpsvkoboah0.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1419831651215_zpsrkes6jvq.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1419832285183_zpsdgnspmie.jpg
While we were there I found me an easy duck call I can start out with. Lets see if I get any good before next duck season.  photo IMG_20141227_182857_179_zpsyhqulvlz.jpg

The next highlight was mine and Davids 23rd wedding anniversary. Yes 23 yrs and we are still sweethearts.  photo PhotoGrid_1419831716440_zpsijoa2abj.jpg

We got to see alot of things too like the Rocky Mountains. They were beautiful when snow covered.  photo PhotoGrid_1419831778144_zpsnmj654y5.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1419831975010_zps8mibj5y0.jpg We saw three or four good snows while there.

One night we went to Chucky Cheeses for part of Dallas’ bday. His bday was not til January but daddy would not be home on the day of his bday so we did a little something while we were there. These boys do love their game time.  photo PhotoGrid_1419831860779_zpsh9kyy0g0.jpg

Christmas came and we had a blast. Everyone got what they wanted. I got my own crossbow, pink camo at that.  photo PhotoGrid_1419831913006_zpsg9hxr7op.jpg

Our next big adventure was something we have never done before. We went on a pheasant hunt. It was wonderful. On the way there we got to see more sights and antelope.  photo PhotoGrid_1419832083944_zpswzlj9xi6.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1419832187613_zpsnqxu8zyf.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1419832330370_zpsdbokizf9.jpg That was the coolest thing ever. We had such a good time and we cooked those babies up too. We will never forget that. The worst part of our trip however was when we had to leave. I hate goodbyes and this time it was hard cause we were the ones leaving and having to drive off. We were not in such a hurry to get home either. School was back in and it was back to the drawing board.

Up came Dallas bday. Yep the big 12.  photo PhotoGrid_1422286055241_zpsbuhai7kp.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1422126626416_zpse3drzmzf.jpg Hes getting to be a big boy but still a mommas boy.

Daddy did get to come home for a few days in January and we finished Dallas’ bday out. He got to do a few projects he wanted to do. We put in two new toilets, and started on a duck blind/gun cabinet/entertainment center. Yea, I will show you when its done. Then he wanted to change out a few doors.

Weve just had to keep ourselves busy til he comes home again. Until then, weve had a few snow days out of school which I absolutely love because  I get both boys under my wings. We make the most of it. Weve watched movies like crazy. We have gone through all the Lonesome Dove series and Fast and Furious series. One night we had cowboy night when we turn out all the lights and use lanterns,  cook baked beans and rolls out of a dutch oven, served on our pioneer dishes that a lovely friend gave to me.  photo PhotoGrid_1425083225798_zpsznasbnkc.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1424484065470_zpsg4qumopr.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1425576607372_zpsoqdh5y2r.jpg

School is going great for both boys. As soon as school is out for summer we will be making one last trip to CO before warmer weather before honeys contract is up in July. We cannot wait for him to be home for good. This has been the longest and most stressful job of all. He will get to come home one more time before we go out there. This year we have chosen not to grow a garden because we will not be here and for two we still have plenty from last years crop. So we will eat all that out before we plant again. It will do the garden good to rest a year. This summer when he gets home we are concentrating on our hunting club. We had some problems with some members in our club and had to shall I say reduce. People were taking advantage of me and the rules while honey was not here and getting careless with safety rules and he did what he had to do. We will concentrate on new blinds, maintenance and food plots for this fall.

We are battling a little fox and yes it is outsmarting us because I am down to just three chickens now. I will not restock this year til we are rid of it and we get back from CO. We have alot to do and plenty of time.

Dakota has started a regular job to which he goes in right after school and works til 5pm. I know this is only a few hrs but when the time changes he will get more hours cause they will stay open longer. Coach will not like this come football practice season but Dakota has already told him work comes first now. I am so proud of his work ethics. He is so much like John Wayne its unreal. We should have named him Dakota John Wayne Dixon. He has been saving up and putting money back for a new adventure of his. I will post later when I get pics. Im proud of both my boys. My boys dont get everything handed to them on a silver platter. Not that we cant afford it but because we have standards and morals we were raised by. They know that mom ans dad will always be there to help. Here lately ive seen my boys work and get paid for what they do. It feels nice to sit back and watch them plan ahead and sort out their money for what their going to get and shop economically. Yea they want to do it their way sometimes but sometimes they listen to advice. Sometimes they want to do it without our help. Stubborn. Thats ok too. Hopefully they want grow up to lie cheat steal or manipulate to get what they want. I want them to have more respect for themselves than that. Besides he fact id probably come after them if they did.

Dallas and I watch the food network all the time an he is learning alot. He loves to watch the cookoff challenges. I have let him come up with menus and he has cooked a few nights. I just supervise. Dakota comes in from work and Dallas cooks. Dakota will ask whats for supper and Dallas will answer. Its funny sometimes. They are learning so much.

Dallas is rocking on in karate. He is working on his red belt now.

Its been a long winter and were all ready for spring. I know I am. This cold, wet, rainy, snowy, weather is getting me depressed. I guess cause my honey is not here either but not much longer.

Well, Ive typed til my hands are sore. I guess its time to go. This should catch you up for a while and again I apologize. I will get better.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stressful Whirlwind

  1. katie says:

    Can I just say that I have a lot of respect for what you are doing and how you are bringing up your children. Also that sounds like a super fun trip. I love visiting family! Did you know that family relationships can really last forever?

    Like

Leave a Reply

