Work hard Play hard Nap hard

Yep weve done it all. We’ve worked, played, and napped hard. 

We got to go to our rodeo and had a great time. Although  I never thought I’d say this in July but I froze to death. It was cold and raining. We didn’t get wet but the cowboys and cowgirls did. Dakota’s  eyes still lit up just like they use to when he was little. PhotoFancie2014_07_18_23_03_56

We had an awesome time.

Then the next night we just wanted to chill out and relax so Dakota put the firepit together and we roasted hot dogs and marshmallows. PhotoFancie2014_07_19_19_25_22One night I wanted to try my hand at making homemade flour tortillas. I made chicken fajitas, homemade refried beans,  and homemade spanish rice. I need to tweek the tortilla recipe just a little. But it was good. I like my tortilla press. PhotoFancie2014_07_22_04_09_47My sunflowers are all finally blooming. The birds are beginning to notice. PhotoFancie2014_07_22_21_44_16I wanted us to have a fun day before more work came up for us to do so we went picnicking and swimming one day. PhotoFancie2014_07_22_19_28_51Next we had a day of 7 on 7 football tournaments. We met the bus at the school and followed them. We got caught in a thunderstorm on the way there but by the tjme we reached our destination it had already dried from where the storm had already came through earlier. The boys had a really good time.PhotoFancie2014_07_24_09_16_19 Work day came around again. It was corn picking day. Whoo hoo. We picked two dump carts full on this one. We sat outside and shucked it and brought  it in before Dakota had to go to football practice. PhotoFancie2014_07_24_13_23_10That evening I put up 30 bags of corn on the cob. I was hurting so bad that night I wanted to sit down and cry. I finally got my kitchen cleaned and had to rest. I got up next morning and was starting on the rest that I was cutting off of the cob. I promised the boys they could have some company for the night and I had to stop and go meet my niece to pick up a cousin that was Dallas company. We were in town picking up pizzas ice cream and movies for all of us when all the sudden i get a phone call from one of tbe coaches telling me that Dakota had been hurt in football practice and his ribs hurt very badly so they were sending him right down the road to urgent care and im glad i was already in town cause we just met him there. While we were there my niece took the younger ones to take Dakotas truck home since it was hard for him to drive and took our pizzas ice cream and movies home and then just took them out to eat while i was with Dakota. They did exrays to see if anything was broken or fractured and to see if he punctured anything cause he was breathing so badly. Nothing broken fractured or punctured thank the Lord but just badly bruised. He cant practice for a week so hes mad about that. He can still go and at least be there but not get to do anything strenuous. He has been on ice and ibuprofen and i wrap his ribs up to help. The next day i had to finish the corn. So i got all set up with some movies and spread a sheet in the floor and got busy. PhotoFancie2014_07_26_13_01_46It was an all day process. Not bad for first picking. That night i gave myself a much needed french manicure and pampered myself. I do however have to leave you with this tidbit. All these years we thought Chey was the laziest cat on the farm but it turns out she has proved us all wrong. She has been protecting the corn all this time from a little rodent. We just had to catch her in the act. We gave her a long and proper apology. Way to go Chey. PhotoFancie2014_07_24_21_01_42

 

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

