Good Saturday.

Well, today I got up and did something I dont n0rmaly do. I went to our local flea market by myself. This is unusual because I dont normally go anywhere by myself, I have always got at least one person with me. Everybody just wanted to chill out today but I had been planning this all week. So I just went alone. I was on a mission. I was looking for some chicks and ducks and I found some.  I got one laying hen, (shes in there somewhere, she wouldnt be still), 7 little one month old chicks, a pair of male and female white ones, and four ducks. Ok, I cant tell you the breeds. Im better with goats than I am chickens. My chickens dont have to have papers like my goats did. I just need some to give me eggs. I like different color too. I will make sure I do more research on chickens. I always put more time and research into my goats I didnt have time to do the same for my chickens.
 photo IMG_20140524_191820_729_zpslhw1jutz.jpg

Dallas was already telling the new recruits their jobs. The hens will lay eggs, the ducks will sass me and look pretty swimming, and if there is too many roosters they will be deep fried or in the roasting pan.

 photo IMG_20140524_190206_702_zpspe93amb3.jpg

We had a little helper while trying to work. Tuffy really likes having run of the barn. The little booger want be still long enough to take a pic.  photo IMG_20140524_191108_239_zps2k0udzzt.jpg  photo IMG_20140524_191041_414_zpsobqsoe0r.jpg

Were having a little problem with Aunt Chey socializing with her. Chey is a bully and I hope when this one gets older she will put her in her place.  photo IMG_20140524_191508_337_zpstfy6oxcz.jpg

A few other finds at the flea market I was on the look out for was a few more iron skillets. I absolutely love iron skillets and Im getting better at cooking in them.  photo IMG_20140524_163812_175_zpsjyqjzzle.jpg

and I found this cute little bird house of cedar. I love the smell of cedar. I think I will paint our farm logo on it.  photo IMG_20140524_172115_313_zpsmzgsiafv.jpg

While I was cooking supper these two were getting fishing gear and boat ready for fishing. They love to fish, but Dallas is not a big fishermen. He likes to brim fish only because he likes playing with the crickets.  Im not a big fisherman or woman but I sure like to eat them. I get bored, If I havent caught anything after 30 minutes Im ready to call it quits.  photo IMG_20140524_175028_893-1_zpshukg1fh0.jpg

Ive had several blog friends and face book friends ask for my homemade hamburger bun recipe. Well to be honest it belongs to the West Ladies of Homestead Blessings. I have all their dvds and absolutely love them. Here is the recipe and instructions with pics.  photo PhotoGrid_1400970967190_zpszcy2brsu.jpg  photo PhotoGrid_1400970215087_zpsxz1eqhv5.jpg
You can actually use this as bread. If you want a loaf of bread, just put dough in a loaf pan. If you want buns use a wide mouth canning ring to cut out. If you want roll, use a regular canning ring to cut out. You can even play with it and add spices like italian seasoning for italian bread. Maybe some cheese and garlic to make a cheesy garlic bread. Hey I just gave myself some ideas.

I added some coleslaw to supper tonight. From garden to table, yep that was awesome. This little head packed a sweet punch.  photo PhotoGrid_1400972124395_zps8aya5wkc.jpg

This week we got the potatoes in the ground. It required the boys help for this. Dallas planted and me and Dakota covered. Well, Dakota had to finish cause pulling the dirt and covering killed my arms. My elbows are still hurting. They are my farmkings. If it wasnt for sweet husband and our boys, I would not be able to do this.  photo IMG_20140523_095836_888_zpsvlq8gkyx.jpg  photo IMG_20140523_104110_457_zps4tdgxh5n.jpg
I hope this is times they will remember when they get older and remember how to do these things.

I have had a blog friend ask me if I would be interested in writing an ebook on farming gardening and homesteading, or write some articles on the subject. Now, Im nervous. I dont know anything about ebooks. I dont even download them cause I like hardcopy books in my hand. lol This is some thing I will pray about and ask Gods guideance and check into. What do yall think?

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

