Just chugging along

Well we are all just chugging along here at 4D FARMS, me and Dallas are about to wrap up school.  He decided this week he wanted to do two lessons a day so he could hurry up and enjoy his summer break.  We do not have karate this week due to our instructor being on vacation, so this is where his extra time is going. Monday will be our last lesson and final exams. I am so proud of him. Its been hard work but he has put his nose to the grind stone and done well.  He really is having trouble with some things in Arithmetic towards the end. But usually they introduce new things at the end, then start with that the beginning of the next year. Im really trying to help him. In Language he really doesnt like diagramming sentences, he does not see the point, He says, “And will I ever use this in the future?” Well, I havent, but I explain to him thats not the point. He says the point is you just need to learn how to speak it. Lol love his logic. Some people cant even speak proper English. He has trouble with all the different parts of speech, so I made us some cheat sheets to help him think when it comes test time.

Dakota is still driving to football practice. The nervousness is going away a little but no all. There is  always that fear of watching your baby go out into the big wide world alone. 😦 He is however doing well.  His boss didnt have anything for him to do this week so he is sitting on pens and needles wanting to get started, but daddy has used this time with him being here to help get some things organized like our hunting building. All our hunting parafenelia was just strowed about in there. Then we have another building to clean and organize, I have to get all my jars and canning things organized for harvest.

We still have potatoes to plant, but I was researching some blogs of some of my friends as to the best way  I want to try them this year. I know you plant them one way deep in furrows and far enough apart. Dear husband will run tractor through again and make them deeper for me and me and the boys will run behind him placing and covering. Then well have it all done.  Corn is coming up fine, I was worried cause a few days after we planted, it rained for a few days steady. I was afraid it would drown the poor things. Everything is looking good. Now if we just keep it looking good.  Here is a little recipe for weed killer we are trying, but be care ful this stuff does kill weeds so you do not want to spray it on a windy day or your good plants.  photo IMG_99171911513908_zps7xv7qarc.jpeg

We got some new additions to our farm. photo PhotoGrid_1400628706721_zpshtgcfj79.jpg Im sad to say that two nights after bringing them home Dallas walks down to the barn this morning and something got one little kitten. I think Im battling another opossum again. It had the nerve to get in my barn stall with them and take one. What ever it is, it can climb. My stall was a wreck and it didnt bother anything else like any more chickens or eggs the hen is sitting on. Now I have one lonely kitten and one lazy cat that did not protect them. I think Im going to ask for the momma cat and bring it here to protect everyone. I will not tolerate predators. We will be setting more traps tonight and closing the barn door at night. We have been closing the fence gate to keep the chickens in. But, now we will have to close them up completely in the barn at night now. I hate that during the summer though cause its so hot but until we rid them I have to. The last opossum must have had young and now they know where to come for free food for the taking. NOT!!!!! Dallas was singing to them in this pic, he was singing, You Are My Sunshine.

Ive been enjoying the time all of us are here in the mornings cause Ive been making some good breakfasts’. photo PhotoGrid_1400598267614_zpsqa1llvas.jpg
Biscuits, sausage gravy, bacon, sausage, eggs, and hashbrowns. This morning I made pancakes. Ive been cooking alot in my cast iron skillets. I love cast iron, I feel so pioneery. lol
Ive been able to sit down and watch some of my Homestead Blessings dvds and loving them, I could watch them over and over. Ive been watching some of my sewing dvds too. Ive got so many sewing projects I want to do.
A lady at church printed me off a pdf pattern for a dress Ive been wanting. I do not do the pdf pattern thingy, Im not all computer intelligent. My computer has been giving me fits here lately, I guess I need to take it to the computer dr. lol
I dont know what we will do this Memorial day weekend. I did tell dear husband I wanted to go to our local flea market. I have not been in ages. That may be what well do.
Well I guess thats about it for now. Dont forget our men and women in uniform this Monday. Be sure to Thank Them for their dedication and service. OOHRAH!!! Semper Fi.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

