Great Family get together

Its been going good since I posted last. Weve got alot done around here. We got to plant somemore  rose bushes. David loves his rose bushes and so do I. everything is looking good around here. photo IMG_20140516_120419_598_zpsk8sjbdzz.jpg  photo IMG_20140516_120351_835_zps87bmmn9d.jpg Were going to get some more hostas. All my flowers have bloomed. Even more after I took this pic. Wouldnt you know it? The little momma wren we had nesting in one of my bushes has abandoned the nest for some reason and left one egg behind. Phewy. I was ready to see her raise her young. I want to put some more bird houses up around here for them.
I am so loving my new screen doors that dear husband had put in for me. Especially in the utility room where the back door is. I can open up my back door and still leave it open. Weve been raising the windows and opening the doors alot. Except for when we had a little cold front come through a few days. We have since then cleaned up the fire place real good and packed everything up for the winter. It looks bare in here with no wood or anything.
One morning I made an awesome omelet for me and Dallas. My fresh chicken eggs, cabbage leaf (didnt have any spinach yet) onion, hashbrowns, and cheese. Yummy in a cast iron skillet.  photo PhotoGrid_1400160052244_zpsxs45tkhd.jpg This is how he found he eggs one morning, just like this in the nesting box……I guess I have some organized ocd chickens. lol  photo PhotoGrid_1400510218607_zpszzgyrusu.jpg
After breakfast Dallas saw his picture in the paper of their karate tournament. Such a distinquished gentlemen with his morning cup of hot chocolate. Yea, it was cold that morning. photo IMG_20140514_122743_424_zpse88wrivr.jpg

The chickens and duck are doing fine finding their way back into the barn at night. It took a few weeks but they learned quick. The opossum that came and attacked half my flock, tried to come back and get the other half but it is no more. He found the trap and he is terminated. Im waiting to see if some eggs are going to hatch that a momma hen has been sitting on. Im hoping so. Im wanting something “baby” on the farm again. I miss my goats. If these do not hatch, Im ordering a homesteader package from McMurray hatchery. It has 10 hens, two ducks, two geese and two turkeys.  Were fixing to get two little kitties to add to the farm. Since I believe my faithful farm cats met their fate with coyotes, I need reinforcements. I hope Chey takes to them well. I think she may start out mean first. But I need her to teach them. Missy is still enjoying her spot. We had some friends give us some duck training equipment so Dakota is going to refresh Missy.

Today is Dakotas last day of school since he doesnt have finals to take. He will be having summer football practice though. Then he also starts his new summer job. He is so excited. Im so glad I have a boy or young man I should say, that wants to work and not depend on the government. He has good work ethics and is not lazy. He will be doing and learning many trades.

Ok so me and David have come to term with the fact its time to let Dakota start driving by himself. Dear God….me and David need some Valium. Seriously….God….thats a prayer. We are nervous wrecks and im about to puke. Does our kid not know this is ripping my heart out. I hate “letting go”. We let him drive to football practice a few mornings and I literally was so nervous I was about to puke. We prayed him to school. Im nervous but i think this is harder on Daddy. He was worse than me. I have found a weakness in him. He was taking it pretty hard. Bless him. I thought I was bad.  I know you just have to let go and trust God where your kids are concerned. Dakota said…..Mom….i dont feel so bad about driving cause all my friends have to check in with their parents too. We have to text when we get in our truck….text when we get there…..text when we get out of our truck…..text when we vet back in…..cant go no where til we text. Im not the only one at least.
I say to him….Son…..im glad we still have some concerned parents out there. Good boys.
Some parents are just setting their kids free and are not concerned where their going what their doing or who their with…….not this momma and daddy.
If plan A fails we have plan B…….gps on phone.
There has only been two other times i have been this nervous. The day we brought him home from the hospital and he woke up. I was about to puke and i was shaking so bad. David had to take over. Then when he was 13 and it was his first day of public school. (Yes i homeschooled him til 7th grade) if my 13 yr old at the time would have let me walked him in that school and hold his hand i would have done so. Me and dallas had to pull off the side of the road and have a good cry. They grow up way too fast. He is becoming quite the young man. If my boys turn out half as good as their daddy, I will be one proud momma.

Dakota is really loving this new coach. He even asks for the boys ideas and inputs and their thoughts. You know, whats going through their minds. That is completely opposite from what they are use to. The last coach had the attitude, its my way or the highway, you do as I say. This coach has spent good time with each player and listened to them. He is also a Science teacher. I forget what Science but maybe one year Dakota will have him.

Dallas is doing good in school. Today he decided to do two lessons so we can knock out some days. Im letting him do it at his own pace today, even if it takes all day.  We are off a week of karate since our Instructor is on vacation.  We only have 12 lessons left and we will be done. We are done with our required reading so we are reading Si Robertsons book. He is a hoot. Jases new book is out and we want it next.  It is more enjoyable. He is just glad to not have to be doing any reports. Bless him.

We have go the corn planted and now we just have to wait til the ground dries after some rain so we can get our potatoes planted.  Everything looks good so far.

As soon as we are done with school, and waiting on the garden to grow, Ive got some projects to do. Im working on a few books now Ive been wanting to read.
 photo IMG_20140518_151038_107_zps0zv5khah.jpg  photo IMG_20140518_151106_276_zpsvevao9uk.jpg
Ive got some movies to get transferred to dvds, some sewing, just some things Ive been wanting to do and just never could find the time.
We had the opportunity to have a cookout with my side of the family. Some could not make it due to prior planned engagements. Maybe next time. We had a good meal of fried catfish, cole slaw, potatoe salad, deviled eggs, baked beans, hush puppies, jalepeno poppers, bananna cake and chocolate cake.
My sister brought her guitar and me and my momma and two sisters sang like old times.  photo PhotoGrid_1400380069217_zpseqbtzuny.jpg

 photo IMG_20140517_131208_993_zpsxsv6niv8.jpg  photo IMG_20140517_130856_287_zps3igjcvjw.jpg  photo IMG_20140517_130824_869_zpsj2ebbyax.jpg  photo IMG_20140517_130800_349_zpsapxkl27e.jpg
This was our cook out for our mothers day with our mom. We remimancessed about child hood memories and just had some good laughs. This is some pics one of my sisters have of us as little girls at our grandparents home.  photo IMG_428771588014858_zpsqnppl8qe.jpeg  photo IMG_428763489373017_zps82w3hdlw.jpeg

We had a really good time. We ate toooo much.

Well it is time for me to get off here. I hope everyone has a blessed day in the Lord.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

