Processing tomatoes

This week I got to pick and process our first tomatoes of the season. We didnt grow a garden this year, but we at least had to grow some tomatoes. I will walk you through the easiest process I know to process them to save or go ahead and can.

First I washed all tomatoes and let them dry. I got an assembly line going. You can go ahead and get you a dish pan and start heating up some water on stove.  photo IMG_20130825_174503_018_zpscb49644c.jpg While my water was heating up I got my trash can ready and cored them. I do not peel them yet.  photo IMG_20130825_180632_376_zps6c926ddb.jpg I took them over to my stove.  photo IMG_20130825_180641_123_zpsf155883a.jpg I stared putting them into the hot water gently.  photo IMG_20130825_180702_098_zps42242c02.jpgOnly for a few seconds enough to loosen skin. Then I remove them from the hot water and immediately put them into cold water.  photo IMG_20130825_180714_619_zps6d6fac58.jpg I take them out and put on a cookie sheet to cool and then I peel off skins. photo IMG_20130825_180722_599_zps3430d868.jpg I then put them into ziploc bags to save for making spaghetti sauce and salsa. photo IMG_20130825_181950_640_zpsd2020bc7.jpg When it is time to make spaghetti sauce I will take out bags and let them defrost, drain and I will cook them down with my seasonings. Then I will ladel into jars and process in a water bath.

If you want to go ahead and process whole tomatoes in jars after you peel them, you just put them into jars whole or crushed and process in a water bath. Make sure jars are fully submerged past lids in water. Process for 45 minutes I think. You can google that just to make sure. Then remove from water canner and let cool and you should start hearing……POPS then youll know jars are sealed. Wholah! Hope you enjoy them.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

