We are having a blast

par
– <![CDATA[ par
pardtx0tx959tx1918tx2877tx3836tx4795tx5754tx6713tx7672tx8631f1fs20 We are having so much fun this Thanksgiving season. First: our first day of gun season for deer. Whoooo hoooo! par
par
Please note: if you are sensitive to animals I suggest you move on down a little bit cause some pics are graphic. However, we do not kill for sport like pochers. We do like trophies like big bucks with racks, but we do put food on the table and meat on our bones. We do not waste. We thank the Lord for what we harvest. par
par
Our first day turned into a great day for this little guy. Dallas first deer. Daddy was so happy Dallas said he almost wet his pants. lol.facebook_-219730709.jpgpar
par
It was a 7 point buck. Dallas contributed to putting food on the table. When they got home, we had to take more pics for our hunting album.Dallas first deer. 7 pt buck. Way to go little buddy. 2012-11-17_10-21-00_663 2012-11-17_10-21-51_178par
par
Everytime someone kills a deer, they get iniated. Here brother gets to do the honors.2012-11-17_10-22-28_441 2012-11-17_10-22-39_212par
par
Dallas is one proud little feller.Daddy has been teaching Dakota how to skin them out. He is getting plenty of practice. He skinned out his own deer he got juvenile weekend. He got a doe. He didnt want his pic made this time. He skinned out Dallas deer for him.par
par
par
That morning also, I was in my shooting house I affectionately call the Tajmah Hall that hubby built for me to hunt out of.2012-11-17_09-45-02_478 par
par
I didnt see anything but I was ready.Can u c me now........par
par
We came in, we changed and ate brunch and shared stories. Dakota only saw a 4 pt. buck. We dont get anything under 6, we dont really like taking a 6 pt, cause we want them to grow bigger. But since it was Dallas first deer, Daddy let him take it. If I see a 6 and it is my first buck I will take it. Then, from then on, we let them slide. That is where Wildlife conservation comes in. You can read more about that on our Hunting and Fishing page. par
par
We take a nap and then we get up and do it all over again. We all go to different places this time. Except for Dakota, he still wants to hunt with his bow, so he went back to his same spot. I went to another blind since it wasnt so cold. This was my view.My view from my blindpar
par
On the way to my blind, while I was driving, a doe ran across in front of me, I thought to myself, “Yep. thats probably the only one Im gonna see”. I drive on and park. I get out and Im walking to my blind, and I keep hearing something on my left. I hurry to get into my blind and sit there for about 30 to 40 minutes. Out comes a doe. I judge to see if shes a good size. I do not want babies. Also, I wanted to see if she had babies following. I do not take mothers who have babies too young to fend for themselves. I just cant. I think shes a good one so here I go. Im so nervous. I prayed before she came out that God would let me shoot accurately and swiftly. I do not like a suffering animal. par
par
I shot and I watched to see which way she went, cause thats part of tracking. You have to know where they run back into in order to find them. I hear her running then, a lay down crash. I knew she was gone. I waited. You have to, or if you get to them too soon, they may not be dead and they may get up and attack you or run off more. I texted David but got no answer, but in my mind I knew I wanted to do this all by myself.par
par
par
So, I came out of my blind and followed into the place where she ran in. There was no blood trail to follow. 243″s do not leave good blood trails. So all I could do was try to find hoof prints. I tracked her prints and saw places where she had ran through. Finally after tracking her, I spotted her.My first doe. I have tracked her dragged her out of the woods and waiting on my dear honey to bring the basket that's on his truck to get her home. I have already thanked her for providing meat for my family.par
par
I immediately thanked her for her provision of meat for my family. I dragged her out of the woods and up to my blind (remind me to never do that again, my back hurt for two days, I could not move). I texted David again. He called me back and said they were trying to find a deer they think that Dallas shot. Gosh, hes on a roll today. lol He said he was on his way with his truck that had the backet on the back. They came and got her on the truck for me. David was proud of me for killing my first deer, tracking her and getting her to the blind. He said he loves a woman who can handle a gun and her deer. lol Gotta love him. par
par
Dallas rides home with me and tells me his story of his night. The sun was shining directly into their eyes, but a big 8 or 9 pt buck came out and Dallas shot. David thought he got him but they couldnt find it so he says he probably missed. At least he tried, David said he knew it was an 8pt cause he stopped counting at 8 but it could have been more. He was kind of upset he didnt get it. But hes ok, he still has his 7 pt were gonna have mounted for him. par
par
We got home and had to take pics.2012-11-17_18-40-47_569 2012-11-17_18-41-43_99par
par
Guess who skinned out mine? Yep, Dakota. He has been busy this week. Bless his heart, the way she was shot it put off an awful smell, he was gagging the whole time. I know he loves me now. They couldnt anniciate me cause it smelled to bad and they were afraid it would make me puke. par
par
Dakota is teaching Dallas how to skin my deer.2012-11-17_18-43-10_147par
par
The next evening we all went out and Daddy finally got to get him a doe. All week he had been taking everyone else hunting, now it was his turn. Guess who skins his out, yep, Dakota. He was busy all week. Now we have 4 deer in the freezer. Our processor has been busy too. par
par
Wednesday we all go out again. That morning Dakota had shot at a doe. I waited and then walked to his blind to see if he needed help. We go in where she went in and we searched and searched and searched. We found nothing. We do not like to give up because we do not want to leave one out there to attract coyotes. We combed the whole area. I walked til I could not walk anymore. I was so sore.NOt to mention, while we were walking, I got smacked in the eye with a itty bitty tree limb. It cut the inside white part of my eye. It hurt everytime I shut or blinked my eyelid. David had to go get me something for the pain. He came back with some eye solution they gave him from the pharmacy at Walmart. I had to wear an eye patch. To make me keep my lid closed from rubbing it.par
par
par
We could not believe he missed. Dakota just does not miss, he is a good shot everytime. He can drop a deer. We think his gun sights were off. Plus this was the first he had shot his rifle all year. He had been hunting with a bow. He was so dissapointed. I did not see anything that morning. Neither did Daddy. Dallas wanted to spend a few days with Nanny so thats where he was. par
par
That evening we all go out again. I didnt see a thing except a squirrel and a rabbit. I dont know how many nuts that squirrel wound up gathering and I thought the bunny was gonna hop into the blind with me. When I was walking to my truck, two deer ran off. They were right there, all I saw was the whites of their tails as they pounced off and said goodbye. Grrrrrrpar
.facebook_710548517.jpgpar
SO everyone now has killed at least one. par
.facebook_1119256777.jpgpar
Now we come to Thanksgiving Day. Boy, are we stuffed. David got up that morning and was getting one turkey in the oven, and two more deep fried. We deep fried one Dakota shot back in spring. It was a wild one. It was so delicious. par
.facebook_-1382242728.jpgpar
par
I had to still bake a Peach Cobbler. I had already made all my pumpkin pies so I just had to defrost one. We get to Nanny’s and all the food was delicious. We are so stuffed but very thankful. Great time with family. par
par
We get up the next morning, and go hunting again. Although we did not see a thing.Another of our club buddies came and he shot a doe. He saw her go down and lay there. But when he got up and got out of the blind, she was gone. She had gotten up and ran off. Dont know what happened. He was very disappointed. Dallas and I came on home and did our chores and showered and ate lunch. David stayed with Jeff and tried to help him find that doe to no avail. That was freaky. We did not go back out this evening we just took a break.par
par
par
Nope I do not do the Black Friday thing. I use to work in retail and I said if I ever got out of retail I would never get out on that day, for twenty something years I have kept that promise. I do not believe in Thanking the Lord one day for all you have and then going out the next day fighting someone over something your gonna get the next day. I dont go anywhere near town if I can help it. It is ridicilous. If shopping has to be a marathon you have to prepare all year for, or camp out, or it is hazardous to your health, you can have it. I like to do all my shopping online in the safety of my own home and no one gets hurt. No stress. par
par
We are almost done with all ours. We have to start early every year cause we have so much going on in December. It is Dakotas birthday, our anniversary then Christmas. Not to mention hunting trips. par
par
Dakota went and spent the night with one of his buddies and his dad took them hunting. They have been seeing a big 12 pt. So far they havent seen him. par
par
I am so thankful also for leftovers. I am not having to wear my eye patch now. Note to self: it is hard to drive with an eye patch on cause you are blind sided.par
par
We still have the rest of the weekend to go. More hunting to do. Ill let yall know how it goes. par
par
As far as the farm goes. I did have someone come and look at my bucks and he picked out Minime. He will come back to get him Monday evening. Im gonna miss him. Here is all my boys: 2012-11-20_09-57-58_268 2012-11-20_09-38-20_812 2012-11-20_09-38-39_961par
par
All my girls are doing fine and growing.2012-11-20_09-51-48_659 2012-11-20_09-52-03_528 2012-11-20_10-10-11_172par
par
Joe Joe is getting the biggest the fastest. She is the black one in this pic2012-11-20_09-52-11_416 I just wonder how many? Next Ive got to get some more little doggie sweaters. I use these on the babies for cold weather. This will be the first year for winter babies for me. I still dont think Miracle is pregnant. I might go get her a shot to bring her back into heat and breed her. I havent made up my mind yet. But Sugar, my other first freshner is already making a little udder. SO if they were bred the same day Miracle would be making an udder too, but shes not, unless she will develop one later. I will have to see. par
par
The chickens are fine and Missy and Susie are fine.2012-11-20_09-52-27_507 2012-11-20_09-48-07_253par
par
par
par
par
Now its time for Christmas movies and that big tin of three different kinds of popcorn..facebook_-100127847.jpgpar
par
Let me leave y all with a quote from Abraham Lincoln.par
ldblquote We have been the recipients of the choicest bounties of heaven. We have been preserved, the many years, in peace and prosperity. We have grown in numbers, wealth and power, as no other nation has ever grown. But we have forgotten God. We have forgotten the gracious hand which preserved us in peace and multiplied and enriched and strengthened us; and we have vainly imagined, in the deceitfulness of our hearts that all these blessings were produced by some superior wisdom and virtue of our own.par

Intoxicated with unbroken success, we have become too self- sufficient to feel the necessity of redeeming and preserving grace, too proud to pray to God that made us! It behooves us, then to humble ourselves before the offended Power, to confess our national sins, and to pray for clemency and forgiveness.

par

With this attitude, may we plan something with those we love, to give bold repentance and thanksgiving to our God who has blessed our great nation and is the only one who can put it back on track!rdblquote endash President Abraham Lincoln, April 30, 1863

par

par

par
.facebook_-1587957507.jpgpar
pardsb100sa100f0fs24 ]]> par

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We are having a blast

  1. JoAnn says:

    Sounds like a good hunting trip. I hope your next trip goes well too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

