Found some time to catch up

par
– <![CDATA[ par
pardtx0tx959tx1918tx2877tx3836tx4795tx5754tx6713tx7672tx8631f1fs20 Phew, we have been going nonstop since I posted last. For some reason I woke up at 4am this morning and could not go back to sleep. But I got alot to do today.par
par
Little couple who is buying Cotton is coming today to get him. I will miss that little booger and so will momma. He weaned fine but I have caught her several times sneaking him drinks through the fence to him. Now, she is helping feed her brothers.par
Me.....ginger why don't you have any milk...are you nursing your brothers too? Ginger.....it was hot and they were thirsty.  She is so sweet and that is her story and she's sticking to it.par
Me…..ginger why don’t you have any milk…are you nursing your brothers too? Ginger…..it was hot and they were thirsty. She is so sweet and that is her story and she’s sticking to it. That is her answer everytime. She is a milk factory, she milks like a cow.par
par
Im weaning Joe Joes babies. I have decided I will let twins nurse longer than singles cause they have to share the milk. They are so friendly and have such sweet dispositions.2012-06-30_09-53-20_92 2012-06-30_09-52-27_150 2012-06-22_10-41-43_290par
par
They are louder than any of my other ones Ive weaned. Joe Joe dont like the weaning thing either. But they will get use to it. The black one is Dixon Farms Joe Joes Minime (see why) the brown is Dixon Farms Country Bocephus. I just love them to pieces. Joe Joe is going to give lots of milk, she got the hang of being milked by me pretty quick after several time of me telling her to keep her foot out of the milk. LOL. She is an easy milker.par
par
Tasha is doing great with her babies and still teaching them. Ive got to work more with them and get them more sociable. They are sweet. I have been getting her on the milkstand a little and getting her use to me touching her. She is going to be a kicker like her sister my Drama Princess. Oh boy, lets rodeo again.What kind of weed is this mommy? Its Bermuda grass and its good for you. What kind is this one mommy? Its just a weed but we eat those too. But why mommy? Why? Why? par
par
Bless her heart I need more pics of her and her babies. She will give lots of milk too, her and her sister have good udder placement. It want be long til I will be weaning them too. Her buck will go with the others to learn to be a buck but her doe gets to stay with her. This will be hard for her cause she will be going back and forth, back and forth…../so on and so on. I have an udder support for her that I will put on her to help wean. You can check them out at Hoegger Goat Supply.par
par
It is funny though, I have a routine established with all my milking girls. Princess is first. I can not believe this is the same goat who put me through the wringer when we embarked on this milking journey back in the spring. I open the stall door to where my milk stand is and she hops right up there and puts her head voluntarily into the headgate and then expects her treat. She is amazing. Since we have an agreement that I dont ever touch her again with my handmilker which she detests, she will patiently wait for me to hand milk even thought it takes me forever cause I have to stop and rub my hands every few minutes. She is a good girl now. She tries to let me know shes done milking but I have to convince her just a few more squirts. Smile. She is still giving 3 qts a day, maybe just a cup less cause the weather now has gotten extremely hot.par
par
Then I kiss her on the nose, and let her out of the headgate and open the door and there she goes. I say next and here comes Joe Joe and the same thing goes. Except a few times here lately Tasha has jumped in front of the line and jumped right up there. I wonder if it has anything to do with the treats they get? Smile…. Everyone gets a kiss and I thank them for their milk always. They wait in line now. Ginger is still kind of skittish, I wonder if she will ever grow out of this?par
par
I plan on starting to make some homemade lye/goatmilk soaps. I grew up using Lye soap when I was little. I still have some that my grandmother made before she passed away, just like the old timers made it, in an iron pot over an open fire outside. Such good memories everytime I smell it and use it. We used it to wash out clothes in too. No fabric softner needed and hung them on the line. Then, ladies, no lotions or moisturizers needed. It is a natural skin moisturizer and skin allergy relief.par
par
To my amazement: I got an early Bday present last week: Meet Yazoo.2012-07-02_20-20-31_664 This is yazoo. My early bday present from david. Ain't he sweet(david). That was slick Ms. Ellen. He came here from AZ. His owners moved here and some friends of mine bought him. My wonderful hubby and my friend Ms. Ellen planned this over a month ago to get him for me. He looks like a beast but he is as gentle as a teddy bear. He “LOVES” on me all the time and he “SMELLS” like a buck. Nobody wants to be around me after Ive been around him. I have to shower first. But he is so sweet. He just follows me around. He reminds me of Eore on Whinnie the Pooh. He is already in Love with Joe Joe. Oh my goodness does he woooooo her. He is too funny. This may be tooo easy this fall.par
par
The other day, I came down to milk, and I notices I could not see Bucky. I called and called and he never would come up. I go in and around the barn. I thought he had jumped the fence and ran away from home. UH OH! But I heard some stirring around under the barn. Guess who was stuck? Yep, he looked so pitiful, he had crawled up under there some how and got him self in a pickle. I had to go half way under the barn and try to pull him out. I had to get him on his side since they tend to have a high back on them, and pull him out. All the while Yazoo is “LOVING” on me by rubbing his head on my UHUM! butt the whole time. I guess this is hilarious, try to contain your laughter. I have been trying to explain to him Im not his type, but hes just not getting it. lolCan you imagine me pulling a 125# buck out from underneath the barn. I was incerdibly sore for a few days. I dont know how long he had been under there, but when he got out, he peeeeeed a long time. LOL Legacy came to check on me when we were done.par
par
I am sure to also reward the kitties with some milk for their hard work.My hard working cats are enjoying their treats this morning. Every once in a while I see Socks trying to send telepathic messages to my goats while they are on the milk stand. Something like, “You now want to turn the milk bucket over….”OK I'm thinking my farm cat is trying to send a secret message to princess. Something on the lines of &quot;you now want to kick the milk bucket over&quot;! I can read her mind and I gently tell her….”no they dont either….”par
par
Since the temps are so extreme in the south and elsewhere right now please remember to water your animals.Remember everybody and everything needs cool fresh water. Its hot out there. Me I prefer a glass of cold milk goat of course or a big glass of sweet tea. Yall come back now ya hear. Lolpar
par
I do not know what happened to my hatching chicks this year. I think something is wrong with my incubator. I think next year, Im just going to order some and be done with it. By the time you run your incubator for 3 or four months 24/7 and then nothing becomes of it, you get disappointed. Not to mention, you have used extra power on your elec bill for nothing. This time every year in the heat of the summer they go on strike laying eggs. It is too hot and they dont have the energy. When the weather breaks they will resume, they better or they will make fine chicken broth. Smile.par
par
OOOPPPSSSS!!!! I have to take a break from my post. The people who are coming to get Cotton is on their way they just called so Ive got to go get him for them. Ill be back.par
par
Well, Ive done alot since I took a little break. Woke Dallas up, got our stuff together, went out and got Cotton. Had a nice long talk with owners. Said my sad goodbyes to Cotton, Dallas and I went down to barn, got our chores done, Milked, came up to house, put milk up, went back out, Picked okra, squash, peppers, tomatoes, and peas. We were exhausted. Came in, ate lunch, took showers, and I took a much needed nap since I was up since 4am. It is now 2:30pm. Im bushed and drained. Dallas is an excellent helper. We have come up with a sothern garndener tip: when picking peas….remember….don’t look at how many you got left to go……look back at how many you already picked. Yes…I thought of that all by myself.par
2012-06-16_19-53-03_638par
par
As far as the garden goes, it is going going and going. Everyday we are picking and processing something. One day David wanted to make some homemade salsa all by himself. I said go to it buddy. He did a good job. He found him a recipe: we only had to buy garlic, since ours isnt ready yet, and cilantro. He prepared and processed 9 qts. It is yummy. I was proud of him.par
par
I have shelled so many peas I think my hands are gonna fall off. Our freezer is full. For two whole days we did nothing but corn from picking to putting in freezer. Were still getting alot of things. We got some white onions, Ill plant them again next yr. Tomatoes are coming in good now. We dug up some Yukon Gold potatoes that were just a grow and see, well we will plant some more of them next yr, I love the taste and texture. Its almost time to dig up the regular potatoes. There are 4 rows of them. My watermelons are doing good, last year they were a flop. Ive got pumpkins this yr, last yr they were a flop too. I hope I do good with them, I will can alot for pies and breads and ……well the list goes on and on like muffins and pancakes……ok you get the picture. Green beans will be ready sometime in Aug or Sept. I planted them late. We all do our part in the garden. The boys dont want to, but they do,,, Smile…..they will appreciate it someday. Im not superwoman, if it was not for my family, I could not do this. They will know how to grow and feed themselves one day.par
par
All of our dozer work is done for right now. It looks great. Now we just have to get water and power and start connecting our driveway and get our levy built for our pond. It just takes time.par
par
Dallas is doing great with his jobs of helping me with the chores and the bucks. He is doing great with Daddy’s girls (the dogs). They want to give him a little trouble, but he has acquired an authoritive voice and they listen. Im proud of him.par
par
I left my last post of him in Karate Camp. Well they finished and he got his certificate and tshirt.2012-06-20_13-00-43_461par
par
We are back in full swing with Karate classes again. Now he wants to take on the instructor….Dallas taking on the instructor. 2012-07-02_18-11-40_662par
par
Hes doing good in class, alot of kids dont want to see him coming…2012-07-02_18-26-22_818 2012-07-02_17-52-36_281 They are to be doing some homework. They are to come up with a submission hold and demonstrate it in next class and do a presentation. He is very good at this. He comes up with his own moves all the time and has to use them on Dakota. lolpar
par
He is going through a growth spurt right now. He is getting some muscles…so he wanted a military cut to go with it.Meet Sgt. Dallas Q. Dixon. Semper Fi. Ooh Rah!!!!!!!! Meet SGT. Dallas Q. Dixon. OOOHRAH!!!par
par
I ordered our school stuff for this year. I am so proud to have him back this year with me. We are going to enjoy our days again. He is excited too. He is so glad he doesnt have to answer to all the other kids behavior and unfair teachers. He just wants to be responsible for his own actions as it should be. We only have to go to the school once or twice a week for 3o minutes for speech class. I opted for this since it will help him so much. But I will be with him too. He still just has trouble with his L’s and R’s.par
par
He is learning to drive the four wheeler alot more and backing it up and such, his feet finally touch. He is getting so big. He is one happy feller right now. He went to the dentist and got his braces off finally. Now he just has a plastic retainer to keep his teeth from shifting and it will help his permanent teeth come in straight. He may still have to wear it a little after his perm teeth come in to keep them from shifting but he said thats ok. He can take it out when he eats and brushes. He is so happy to be eating anything he wants to now.par
par
We got to finally have the football awards banquet at school. Better late than never. But the coach was caught up in winning the State Championships for the first time at the high school. We are so proud. He was named Coach of the year for baseball for the high school. Dakota received a plaque for Most Improved Player.photobucket-14287-1340373423536I cant remember what Hunter (his buddy) got. They are very proud and we are too.Athletic banquet Bethel springs rebels most improved player Dakota dixon. 2012-06-21_19-49-15_188 2012-06-21_19-39-47_602 2012-06-21_19-39-18_978par
par
He has been working so hard out in this heat. But he loves to make money. We took him and let him open up him a savings account and we are teaching him how to manage his registery and all. I will teach him how he can get online and monitor his account. I just love teaching my kids. Sometimes they appreciate it sometimes the dont. Dakota is really independent and wants to do it all himself. His favorite thing to say is “I GOT THIS MOM!” URGH. Sometimes thats ok, after you listen and learn how. I dont like just letting them blindly find things out. I want to teach them all I can.par
par
He is getting him a good tan. Here is tall dark and handsome weedeating.Tall dark and handsome weed eating. That's my boy. I told him when he gets to high school next year and all they girls want to know how he got his tan, to tell them….”Weedeating Baby!” Hes getting toooo many girls noticing him. Im gonna have to keep my eyes open.My hard working boy is tired. My poor man does get tired after a long day of work. Poor thing. If you wait til a kid is 17 or 18 before you try to start teaching them responsibilities or to go out and get a job, you have already waited tooooo late. They are already a little lazy and expect handout sometimes. Not all kids so dont hate me.par
par
Speaking of high school, this will be Dakotas first year. He will be a Freshmen. Boy how time flies. Im nervous already. He just cant make up his mind about baseball and football. That will just have to be left up to him.par
par
I let him take his little girlfriend out to supper one night, bless his heart he paid for mine too. But, in my rear view mirror I kept noticing him trying to put his arm around her and pull her closer to him and try to steal kisses. (Hes going to be just like his daddy, a romantic, but its too soon). I could tell this was making her embarassed and uncomfortable. So when we got home I had to tell daddy to have a talk with him again about respecting girls space. Then while we were eating, he was having trouble getting the fat off his steak, so I did not want to embarass him and ask him, “You want momma to cut it up for you?” So, I just watched. But when he puts his knife and fork down and wants to eat it with his fingers I had to intervene, to keep the poor feller from embarassing himself. We had to go over the basics of manners again when we got home too. lol He is too funny sometimes though. He is going to be a great husband and father some day. I pray God uses both my children and they have great testimonies and not wasted lives.par
par
I have been rewarding hard work with play time.2012-06-25_13-18-46_466 Thank u daddy for letting us have the day off to go swimming. But got to harvest corn tomorrow.Hes such a good brother to just toss his little brother up into the air and aimlessly about into the water. lolpar
par
I have had a hard time with this new movie Magic Mike. This is what I put on facebook.par

Ive seen all the posters and advertisements about the movie magic mike or whatever. These men do nothing for me when I look at them. Only my husband still makes my heart skip a beat and my pulse race. If your husband does not still have this affect on you then something is wrong. Maybe that’s why the divorce rate is so high. I probably want get many likes on this one. I didn’t post it for u to like it. I posted it to get you back to reality. I just wonder how all the wives would feel if their husband’s rushed out to see a movie of female strippers? Hhmmmmmm? Thats my story and Im sticking to it.

par
This is something else I put on facebook one day too when I was just in a mood just a thought for the day.par

If you must absolutely repeat some hot news (gossip) do not feel like you have to come unload (tell) it to me. I don’t really need to hear it. My advice to you would be to get your facts straight first cause half of what you repeat is not true to begin with. The people that know its not true are laughing at you anyway.

par

I try not to get involved in peoples drama. But if I think I can help or if something needs to be said I will either make you mad or you will thank me. Random thought.

par

I’m glad I’m still needed. Dallas told me he still needed me even if Dakota didn’t. Ain’t that sweet. He said I’m still the baby well 9 year old baby momma. Lol

par

David said I was Ms. Kay off duck dynasty. “Remember when?” And “I ain’t leaving here without them goats!”……. We love that show.

par

OK I just have to post this. Before you snarl your nose up or make fun of the thought of drinking goat milk. It has saved many babies lives who were otherwise allergic to everything else and starving. It has healing properties and probiotics for the digestive system. People who are lactose intolerant to dairy products can drink goats milk when they can’t anything else. Research has proved it raises the white blood cell count in cancer patients. It is the most popular milk in other countries. You do have to aquire a taste for it because it is richer and sweeter. No it is not like your grocery store milk which has chemical preservatives in it and has everything zapped out of it. The goat milk that is in the can on the shelf at the store is not the same either. So consider the benefits.

par
Now I just posted on facebook,par

I dont spend money on manicures, I do my own, after I scrub all the garden dirt out from underneath them. I dont do fake tans, I actually get out in the sun. Every once in a while I have to even up my farmers tan.

par
Alot of times its easier for me to do facebook cause I can do it on my ph0ne anywhere. I cant do that with my blog. Well yes I can post on my blog, but I cant put pics on there from my phone. Im sure there is a way, Ill figure it out one day maybe. lolpar
par
Again in the middle of this post Dakota called and I had to go pick him up when he got off work. So you see why I dont post alot right now….going here and there doing this and that……Phew!!!!par
par
Well David is making a shrimp boil tonight and in a while I have to go milk again. So I guess Id better go. BUSY BUSY BUSY as a bee.par
par
I hope everyone stays cool and hydrated in this heat and take care of yourself.par
par
 par
par
 par
par
 par
par
 par
pardsb100sa100f0fs24 ]]> par

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

