Welcome Dixon Farms Sasha's Legacy

Uh, you remember me telling you that I was going to have to keep my eye on Princess for the next few days, cause I didnt feel like she was going to make it to the end of  May? Well, she didnt. When I left them last night and went to bed, something kept nagging at me all night. I go down to the barn this morning and see she is leaking birthing mucous and amniotic fluid. WHoo Hooooo the game is on. I got all my chores done very quickly, and got the kidding pen ready for her and got her fanny in there pronto. Its a good thing cause a little later she started pushing. She had a hard time cause it was a big baby.

Here she is getting ready:
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Here “he” is Yep this is Dixon Farms Sasha’s Legacy:
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

There is only one problem, she is scared to death of him. She runs from him and she want let him nurse or anything. I hold him up to her and let her smell him and get use to him. She is so nervous. I got her on the milk stand and tried to get her use to me touching her udder and she kicks and throws a fit. This is going to take some time. So, in the mean time I have got some powdered colostrum to feed him til she realizes what her udder is for. He is so friendly and sweet. I just love him. Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

I have left them alone for a few hrs to bond with each other. She talks to him and such, but still nervous.Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Well, this is the little devil that did it. Yep, my little man Zorro, not even a year old. That means he bred back in Oct. with her. Sneaky thing. Look, he looks guilty and he thinks hes in trouble…lolUploaded from the Photobucket Android App

I guess he proved to be very fertile at a young age. Way to go Zorro.

Well, I was suppose to plant plants in the raised beds today, I may get to them and I may not. Dallas and I already have out “bed” made in the loft of the barn, thats where well be tonight so I can keep an eye on mom and baby and feed him til she learns to. Right now Im in much need of a shower since Ive got birthing goop and baby slobber and colostrum all on me.

I will keep everyone up to date on how things are going.

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome Dixon Farms Sasha's Legacy

  1. Emma Acly says:

    Wow….that is so amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

