Good Weekend

par
– <![CDATA[ par
pardtx0tx959tx1918tx2877tx3836tx4795tx5754tx6713tx7672tx8631f1fs20 Photobucketpar
par
We had a good weekend. We went hunting Saturday. That morning David went hunting and he hit a deer but all they found was just some hair and a few blood spots. They walked the woods for over an hour and they never found it. par
par
While David was hunting that morning, Dallas and I went to a bday party for two children in our church. Dakota had to go sit at his Grandmothers because he was not allowed to go. I will discuss that in a minute. par
par
When we all got home, we got ready and went hunting that evening. Me and Dallas were together and David and Dakota were together. Dallas fell asleep on me again. But after he woke up, some deer started coming out right in front of us. There was a doe andher baby first, then another doe with her baby and low and behold, another doe and her baby. Gosh, 3 does 3 babies. They are all of weaning age now, so they are not nursing. We will not take a doe if she is still nursing her babies. I picked out a good sized one and got my rifle ready. She would not be still for nothing. I just took a chance and shot and I guess I missed her because we never found mine either. But 10 minutes after I shot, another shot rang out behind us and we knew it was either one of them. I get a text on my phone and David tells me Dakota has dropped a deer right in front of where we parked the trucks. So, somebody brought home the bacon….er…….deer I mean that night. par
par
We got it home and proud dad was teaching his two boys how to skin their own deer. Dakota did a very good job. Mom on the other had was about to loose her cheerios. But Ive come along way in 20 yrs. Ive gone from crying at Bambi to being able to pull the trigger. We will have two deer in the freezer in a few weeks. I cant wait because we love the minute steaks our processor does for us. We do not hunt just for fun, we use the deer for human consumption. It is not hunted in vain. par
Photobucketpar
par
Sunday morning we had really good services. Sunday night was awesome because we had a trio come to our church and sing for us. They are called Red Roots. They are 20 yr old triplets with red hair. Between all 3 they play 10 instruments. They were really good. I asked Dallas which “one” he liked and he said, “All 3”. Bless his heart hes not choosy. lolpar
par
Here they are performingPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketpar
par
They play bluegrass and they sound like Taylor Swift.par
par
par
 par
par
After we got home David had made some chilli, and then we had hot chocolate. Boy it was good. We had whipped cream. crushed peppermint, and choc. syrup. Yummy!!!!!!Ill just leave you with a sniffle…par
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android Apppar
par
Looks like I needed bigger mugs. par
par
Now to the part about Dakota having to sit at Grandmothers house while we went to bday party. par
par
We have come across a power struggle with him. We have noticed for some time that Dakota quit bringing books home even to study. I didnt say much because I was trusting him to get keep up with his responsibilities. This last progress report he brought home, I hit the roof. He had d’s and f’s for test grades. But he thought since his overall average was turning out to be passing that this was ok. So you know me, Ms. Hounddog, thats gonna sniff out any problems, had to start asking questions. I wanted to know what was going on with his test grades. He said he could study, but he was going to fail it any way so he just quit and give up studying all together. Well, you know how well this answer went over with me. Then the drilling, and lectures start and he starts tuning me out. Well, when Daddy saw this, he hit the roof too. I thought I was upset. par
par
I do know that 50% of this is not all Dakotas fault. There is one subject that alot of the students have trouble passing these tests. They are really on a high school level. There fore Dakota was really trying at the beginning of the yr. but then he would get his test back and he was disappointed because he did not pass them. Thats when he got discouraged and disappointed and just quit. par
par
I knew this was bothering him, but what I was trying to get into his mind was, you dont just quit and give up, you change your strategy. Well he refused to do this too. He wanted no part of studying anymore. This we had to ground him for…his stubborness. He is grounded until he pulls his test scores back up. I never expect my kids to make straight A’s. I know this one subject is really hard so if C’s is the best he can do, and he has really been trying and doing his part, then Im satisfied with a C. But I know he can do better than D’s and F’s because he did last yr. in her class. Now he is to come home, have 30 minutes of down time to relax and refresh his memory. Then he is to go to his room and do his regular assigned homework, then do something in each book of each subject he is failing. He is to come show us his work. If he chooses to read a section, then he comes to me and tells me about it and I ask questions. There is a website that goes along with their text books where you can go and print out practice tests. I had to use these websites faithfully last yr. and Im going to have to use them again this yr. He doesnt like this, but it only helps him. par
par
We hate to be so hard, but we have to get him back on the right track and positive way of thinking. He will be in High School next yr. and this will definately not be tolerated if he wants to play football. He definatley does not get into a power struggle with momma and daddy. He knows what he can do but he just got discouraged a little. Dakota is also the kind of person that likes to handle his problems on his own. Thats ok, if its working for him, but when its not working anymore, he has to come up with something else. He will not come to you for help. He will sacrifice failing before he breaks his pride. Well we had to break his pride for him a little. It breaks my heart to be so hard, but I guess thats why they call it “tough love”par
Photobucketpar
par
par
par
par
I hope everyone has a blessed day and remember to check out my Visitors Shopping page for some great deals and sales for Christmas.par
par
pardsb100sa100f0fs24 ]]> par

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

