Listen to your kids

par
– <![CDATA[ par
pardtx0tx959tx1918tx2877tx3836tx4795tx5754tx6713tx7672tx8631f1fs20 First, Ill start by saying today was no school because of snow. Although there was none on the roads. The boys are still enjoying the nerf guns PhotobucketPhotobucketI think they are pretty good investments. lolpar
par
Dakotas coach called basket ball practice tonight, on a Wed, night of all nights. Since we didnt have school, we didnt have our usual night of Teamkid so it would have been really low on attendance, I didnt have to drive the church bus to the school. So, this one time, I let him go and get it out of his system and I hope his coach is happy, maybe now he’ll shut up. lol We have a family devotion at home tonight before bed. They have tournaments this weekend and have to squeeze them in.par
par
Me and the boys had to have a discussion this morning. Here lately Ive been noticing Dakota tuning things out. So I asked him and he said its because I repeat myself so much and Im toooo detailed. So, he was right, I AM those things. But when my kids get use to tuning me out, they will also learn to do this with everyone else, I didnt like the thoughts of that so I knew some changes had to be made somewhere. First I sat them down and made sure they understood why there has to be rules. Not just at home but school and in everyday life ever since time began. That, they understand. Well, then we got into house rules and they understood we have to have those too. It was just the way we were doing it.Since my children dont like me repeating myself so much(mind you the reason why I had to do this in the first place is because they would UH, forget…) I went back to something I started a few yrs ago. It worked for a while and then I took them down. Well, I drug them back out today.par
PhotobucketPhotobucketSince I get tired of repeating my self too all the time and get disappointed, we will use them again. These handy dandy things are called check charts. One is Bedroom Check, one is Bathroom Check and there is one called BedTime Routine. This shows detailed with pictures of course of what is expected of them to do in their rooms and bathrooms. I let them choose the time they thought was best for them to get their rooms clean. They should have a clean room and bathroom each night before bed. That is their deadline. If I should go into either room or bathroom at the end of the day(at night) and it is not done, they will have something taken away. They will loose priviledges.They are help accountable for these things because they are theirs. I will not go behind them all day everyday reminding them of what they need to do,(hence, cuts out the repetiveness) ,they have no one to blame but themselves and I have not guilt nor will I feel sorry for them. They wanted it this way and we needed a change. You see what may have worked a few yrs ago sometimes doesnt go very far and you have to adjust according to your families needs. I sit and listen to my kids when I sense something is wrong I sniff the problem out and we sit down and talk maturely. par
par
I never liked it when my parents said, “Because I said so.” I could not stand it. Its not that I was being rebellious, I just wanted to understand why, so I could learn. I swore when I had kids, I would never use those words and I dont. I always explain when I tell them something. This helps them understand why and how the world functions. I think those words do cop and attitude with some kids and they do develope a rebellious attitude. Our job is to teach right? Well, how can they learn if we dont. This is how they grow up to be great men and women. They have an understanding. They dont go into life blindly not knowing what to do and “why”. We will try things this way for a while and see how it goes. I know already there will be some things taken away, but they will eventualy get the hang of it. par

The more I listen to my kids, I learn to love their individual personalities and uniqueness. Thats why God made them different. Listen to your children, their emotions change before your very eyes the older they get. Dont let that slip away. If you dont talk to them, someone else will, and you may not like who it will be.

par
Are my kids perfect, of course not, their kinned to me. LOLpar
par
Well, thats just my ramblings for the night. Gonna go and try to get some things done. We are having BBQ sandwiches with coleslaw and French Fries.par
pardsb100sa100f0fs24 ]]> par

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we homeschool, farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

