Has it been that long?

par
– <![CDATA[ par
pardtx0tx959tx1918tx2877tx3836tx4795tx5754tx6713tx7672tx8631f1fs20 I am so sorry I have not blogged in so long. Ive really been busy. Then sometimes, Im just too tired or dont have enough time to get on the computer. My garden is done now except for some winter things I have put out like spinach, carrotts, and lettuce. Im done canning all the rest and trying to clean the garden out. My cabinets are full and part of the barn loft is full of canned veggies. A wooden bin under the house is full of sweet potatoes and reg. potatoes. Weve been picking up walnuts out in the field so we can eat them and bake with them. They are drying now. Its time to put my canner away and all my jars and lids. Gosh where am I gonna put them?
par
The boys are doing fine in school, there have been a few days we have had to take off for something, but we use them as review days to backtrack and it  helps alot. Dallas is doing really good in phonics and sounding out words. He gets so excited when he can read words. I can hear him going around the house saying blends and putting them together to make words. He tries so hard to write words on paper. Im so proud of him. He still has trouble with L’s and R’s as far as pronouncing them. He is doing really well at cursive writing. Better than I thought he would. He loves to count too. Hes always asking what is this plus this. Dakota is having a little trouble with his parts of speech in Language class. So Im making notes on index cards so he can have them to go by when it comes test time. Adverbs really gets him. He gets a little lazy wwhen it comes to answering questions in  his chapters. He wants me to tell him the answers, Oh No, I say, we dont play that game. I make him look them up himself. Hes getting the hang of fractions, he didnt know there was so much to do with fractions.
par
Dallas and I went through a stomach virus and it took us a week and a half to get our energy back, David and Dakota took care of us and the house and cooking and etc. I had a flare up with my arthritis and couldnt hardly move for a few days. The weather is changing and it threw me for a loop, I had to start taking a steroid for a few days. It has calmed down now.I always have a rough time in the winter.  David is home for a couple of weeks so were going to try to get some projects done.
par
We took a trip to Waynesboro, TN last Thurs to have Tisha bred. So come April 6th we should have babies running around here. I took Cocoa with us this time for support for Tisha. They grieve when you seperate them, its natural for goats. I was informed that Cocoa really needs to loose some weight before I have her bred or she could have toxemia, breeding problems or birthing problems. Its really hard to see her face when she cant have as much food. She looks at me so pitiful. Ive had to start exercising her and taking her for short runs or walks. She pouts for a while but she forgives me later. Were really having a hard time with catching her estrus cycle. Im going to have to call my vet for his help. There is a way you can induce heat cycles, he will have to explain the process and procedure. I will try to breed her in Dec. Tishas milk is going down due to cold weather. Cows and goats do the same.  This is why dairy farms have so many in their herds because they have to make up for the milk loss in the winter. It broke my heart to have to buy a gallon of milk. and to top it all off now it tastes funny.Weve enjoyed her milk for so long. Oh well, this too shall pass. Next yr. Ill have milk running out my ears. Ha!
par
We have finally let the ducks and turkeys out to free range. The ducks we let out first. They didnt know what to do or where to go. Of course, we lost a few to them wanting to spread their wings and literally fly away. We knew that would happen. The other night we heard one in the woods behind the barn and she was calling to the mallards. She was trying to follow their voices to find her way back to the barn. Me and Dakota get out there and its getting dark fast. After going through many briars and tripping over many logs (since we forget to grab flashlights) we finally find her and she makes it back to the barn, with the fellas. We have made them a little pound but its taking them a while to want to get in it. They just want to drink the water out of it. Oh well one thing at a time I guess.When we were trying to get them out of the coop they start running to the turkeys for protection. They didnt want to be seperated. I had to do something though because the turkeys were running all over the ducks at feeding time. So I waited a few days and then me and David let the turkeys out. He loved watching them. We set for the longest just watching them One came up to him and pecked him and hopped up on the 4 wheeler with him. He said it was different petting one than looking down at the other end of a barrell of a shotgun at one. We put out a range feeder for them. I guess they think Im their mother cause they follow me everywhere I go. As I went down to the barn tonight to milk and feed. They were all roosting on the fence panel as you go into the barn. The ducks right under neath them once again for protection. It was a sight. It is fun to watch the ducks fly over the house. Its fun to watch them get the hang of their landing too or when they dont and come too close to a tree. Ha! The turkeys will just about eat out of your hand, the ducks are still a little skittish. I just love their little faces. We have to clean out the coop now and repair some things and then I can bring all my chickens together. I do have some smart working cats. When we let the ducks and turkeys go, the cats baby sitted literally. If they started going somewhere that they didnt think they should go, they herded them back up and made them stay close to the barn. When they moved Oatmeal and Shy moved when they sat still, the cats layed down. It was too funny and amusing. Thats my farm cats.They have even been sleeping in the loft of the barn. One night one of them scared the fire out of me. She jumped down out of that loft and made me jump out of my skin. She thought it was funny. Shy demands your attention. I dont care what your doing, if she wants you shes gonna get you. SHe will climb up you leg and get on your shoulders and  just nuzzle in your hair.
par
 Susie gets to come home in a few weeks, she has passed all her field trials and has earned her Hunting and Retrieving Title for her pedigree. Dixie will go to the trainer next.
par
I love our farm around here. It is peaceful and tranquill. Its also hard work and alot of endurance and perserverence. It is ours and thats what makes it special. This is what Ive wanted since I was little and remember being with Ma Ma and Pa Pa on their little farm they had years ago. PaPa also had horses years ago, but health made him stop working with them. Some day we will have some. Right now were trying to find a hog to put in the freezer and come spring we want to find a couple of calves to go in there too. This is a good life and I enjoy it. Theres nothing like being a little self suffecient. Yall should come see us sometime.
par
Well gotta go read some scripture with the boys and tuck them in.
par
Hope everyone has a good day.
par
pardsb100sa100f0fs24 ]]> par

About 4dfarms

I am a wife to an amazingly dedicated, devoted, and loyal husband whom God sent to me. I am a mother to two wonderful boys to whom I'd give my life for. Around here we have homeschooled, we farm, garden, hunt, fish and anything else we want to do. Although I do have Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes its hard for me to keep up. If it was not for my husband and two boys, I could not do some of what I do. They really do help me alot. We work together as a team in my home. We try our best to train up our children in the fear and admonition of the Lord. Yea, they slip sometimes and correction has to be made. Thats life. I want so badly to be just like the Proverbs 31 woman. My grandmother did an awesome job of it and Id like to fill her shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

